Music heals

The world is a beautiful place and life is a wonderful thing. Still, a big part of living in this world is the phenomenon we know as pain. This does not negate any of the joy that is living. Nor is it the opposite of a good life. Pain is a part of life. Accept this fact and get on with it. Now, suffering, on the other hand, is optional. No one is exempt from pain. There will be plenty of that in everyone’s life. There isn’t anything that you or I or anyone else can do about it. To suffer is a choice. Suffering is one of many possible responses to pain.

So what does this have to do with Improvised Music? Well, it has everything to do with my music. Or I should say: the point of my music.

One day I woke up and realized that there was a lot of suffering in the world. There are a lot of people hopelessly suffering in this world and they don’t know that that they have a choice to feel otherwise. There is so much suffering in the world, I concluded, that I could spend the rest of my life dedicating each gig i do to the healing of someone’s suffering and never run out of unique causes to champion. That was the idea behind my project “Peace Themes” and will be the idea behind every presentation of my music.

Music is the healing force of the Universe. That’s why it has taken center stage in every ritual and rite throughout the history of humankind. To use it for anything else is an abuse of one of the greatest gifts we have.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

